What’s Wrong With My Brain?

OK, time to break down and admit it. If I could quit the day job and write full time, I’d never write again.

I had a three-day weekend. I had plans to spend it writing. My intentions were good. I had a plan.

I failed.

Each time I sat down with a piece of paper in front of me, my brain locked up. If I put the paper away and just let myself think about the story, my mind wandered.

As a kid in school, I never freaked out about writing a report. But I never actually put pen to paper until a day or two before it was due. I spent time thinking about what I wanted to say and the ideas were almost fully formed by the time I sat down to write.

It’s not that I lack discipline. I homeschooled two children and I work from home. That takes a lot of self-discipline. I have to have my butt in the chair by a certain time and stick with it for the entire day. I ignore phone calls from friends. I don’t answer the door. I’m very good at sticking with the task at hand.

But give me a couple of days of free time to do nothing but write, and I just can’t do it.

If I limit myself to a certain amount of time on certain days, I’m much more creative. And oddly enough, I often find myself working out a story problem while I’m working the day job!

What is wrong with my brain?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. speckofawesome
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 21:09:37

    There’s a reason for the saying that if you want something done, give it to someone busy. I can write a ton more in the 15min breaks I have at work than in an entire hour at home. Just goes to show there are many reasons not to quit your day job. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Dawne Webber
    Jul 11, 2014 @ 12:10:12

    I know what a good writer you are so you’re brain seems to be working fine. BTW-I homeschool too!

    Reply

    • MJ Belko
      Jul 11, 2014 @ 13:19:03

      Thanks, Dawne! My boys are grown men now, so it’s been a few years. Each time I started to doubt my decision to homeschool, I just thought, “Well, I can’t do worse than the public school was doing.” My older boy went to public school through the third grade and still couldn’t read. Homeschooling takes discipline and guts. I salute you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

