Time for a Change

Well, my old routine of focusing my writing time to a few hours on Sundays has finally fallen flat. Too many lawnmowers running; too many talkative family members.  I have been creatively crippled for a couple of weekends now, so I did the unthinkable.

I’ve changed my routine.

Got up at 5 am, had some coffee, did my workout, and hit the shower. I was dressed and sitting on the porch by about 7 am. Pulled out the notepad, intending to start on a new story since the one in progress had stalled so badly.

Nothing.

Did some “free writing”.

Nothing.

Pulled out the stalled story and gave it a look. Hmmm. This could work. And that. Looked at the mess of scribbled notes on multiple pages and the typed very rough first draft and decided to go to the computer and sort it out.

Still needs a lot of work, but it’s coming together. I managed to get in about 2.5 hours of work before going to the paying job (which I’ve put off to write this post).

Don’t know how long this new routine will work, but day one certainly yielded positive results. Onward and upward!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ecarasella
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 12:36:17

    Hang in there. It’s never as bad as it seems, and it’s always the best thing ever when those words finally come out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

