Going For It

A few years ago, I told my husband (John) I wanted to be a writer. It wasn’t the best time for me to cut back on my hours at the day job, but he gave me his full support, saying, “If you want to write, go for it.” You can read the full story on my post How I Got My Writing Groove Back (in “uncategorized”).

Early yesterday, I sent him a text telling him I had hit 66 (now 67) followers on this blog. After dinner, I got into the car to head out to my writing group and found a yellow rose pinned to the visor with a card that read, “Congratulations on number 66”. 

I can’t tell you how much I love that man.

Thanks to all of you who follow here. When I started this blog in February, I never expected anyone else to bother reading it. Your support is precious to me.

For those of you who are pursuing the dream of being a writer, but without the unflinching support of family or friends, take John’s words to me and make them your own.

If you want to write, go for it!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mlrover
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 02:10:58

    My John said the same to me. Lucky in love and our hubbies!

    Reply

  2. Dawne Webber
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 16:07:40

    Lovely post and hubby 🙂 My family is not quite that enthusiastic.

    Reply

  3. D.R.Sylvester
    Aug 10, 2014 @ 00:16:11

    Oh how I would love to cut back on the day job. Maybe if I move into a modest sized cardboard box I could afford to do so…
    Also, you picked well by the sounds of it 🙂 well done

    Reply

  4. lacrow1040
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 13:22:50

    Love this! 🙂 Write what’s in your heart!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

