This Is What I Get

wpid-20140824_100125.jpg

If you’re enjoying a Sunday morning bagel right now, you might want to stop while I explain this picture. I apologize in advance.

As promised in an earlier post, I bought a book containing four of Hemingway’s novels and began reading The Sun Also Rises yesterday.

It was a lovely evening. I was sitting on the porch with my husband, who was reading The Klingon Art of War. We were enjoying an adult beverage. The neighborhood kids were laughing and riding their bikes up and down the sidewalk. A gentle breeze lifted the day’s humidity and carried it away. And then,

SPLAT!!!

A bird, species unknown, dropped its cargo on page 62.

If I believed in reincarnation or shape-shifting, I would swear that a vengeful being who had once been my high school English teacher was ticked that I was actually enjoying a Hemingway tale without a three-hour explanation of the symbolism involved, followed by a pop quiz, and decided to find another way to turn me off Ernest’s best works.

Nice try, Mr. V.

I am undaunted. A great read, like a great writing session, sometimes requires sacrifice and a strong stomach. Bird poop be damned. On with the story!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tammi Kale
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 01:25:42

    Love this! Onward we go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

