Once more, into the breach!

I just submitted a manuscript to a small publisher in New York. I haven’t discussed this particular story on this blog at all, but my writing group read it and gave it a good review.

I worked on it for about a year, off and on. I had trouble getting myself to write the first draft of the ending but found myself with time on my hands when Hurricane Sandy struck last fall, putting my medical transcription job on hold for a couple of weeks while the doctors and patients put their lives back together.

I don’t know how the publisher I chose will like it. I suppose it’s possible to like the story but feel it has zero chance of seeing a bookshelf.

I don’t know how it works with other genres; but with children’s books, they only contact you if they’re interested or they send a form rejection letter. Most of the time, I’m just left wondering if they even received it. It’s a little disheartening.

If it gets a thumbs down, maybe I’ll just put it on the blog. It’s a fun read, even for adults.

Wish me luck.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gustdavid2315
    Sep 09, 2014 @ 13:49:40

    Reblogged this on gustdavid2315.

    Reply

  2. utahrob
    Sep 09, 2014 @ 13:56:43

    Good luck. If they don’t like it, another publisher will.

    Reply

  3. laurenjeffreywriter
    Sep 29, 2014 @ 01:14:30

    Congrats on submitting your story! Good luck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

