New Year, Same Dream

I sent the manuscript I’ve been shopping around to another publisher today. The information I had said they were accepting unsolicited manuscripts; but about an hour after hitting “send”, I received one of those soul-crushing auto responses. They are not accepting unsolicited manuscripts at this time. Obviously, my intel was flawed. I guess it’s better than an outright rejection. I have great faith in this particular manuscript. I know I can get it published if I can just get someone, ANYONE, to read it.

And so, the year 2014 goes out with a pitiful whimper.

I just bought a new calendar for my office. So eager am I to see 2014 pack up and leave that I’ve already tossed the old calendar and hung up the new one. I love all the freshness and possibilities a blank calendar holds. There are no appointments scribbled into the boxes. No deadlines. No “musts”. Just birthdays and anniversaries. And dreams. Who knows what will happen by spring? If I pick a few more potential publishers from the list, might I have a contract by year’s end? How many stories will I develop from the index cards in the purple box? Maybe our financial situation will improve enough for me to work fewer hours at the day job. Who knows?

New year. Renewed dreams. Fresh courage. Original ideas. Great success. Joy in the process. Health to endure.

Wishing you (and me!) all of these things in 2015.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mlrover
    Dec 29, 2014 @ 00:58:16

    It’s always great to read your posts. I loved The Riot on 17th Street so much I reposted it.

    Reply

  2. truth42
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 17:47:02

    Tough, isn’t it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

