Writing Bitch (WB) Update

OK, fellow WBs! True to my word, I just sent a third manuscript to a third publisher. Three different stories out in five days. Nobody gets three to six months to get back to me. One month tops (maybe six weeks) and then I move on to the next. The first recipient is still free to accept or reject, but I’m not putting my life on hold for anyone. The next guy might read faster. Besides, these are picture books, for crying out loud. They don’t take that long to read and toss in the trash.

Doing some research on where to send next. I love that some publishers will send a free catalog when asked. I get to sit and consider the types of stories they publish and see if anything I’ve written fits in. I know it isn’t environmentally sound to request a paper catalog, but I hate scrolling through a website for information like that. The same goes for looking for publishers. I need a printed copy of the SCBWI “The Book” in front of me, along with my trusty yellow highlighter. Can’t make notes on a computer screen.  It’s after the first of the year, SCBWI!  I’m supposed to be able to order the 2015 version now.  Let’s go! We’re burning daylight!

I just found out that a publisher I’d wanted to approach last year is now accepting unsolicited manuscripts, so they’re on my list with a vengeance.

I’ve grown suspicious of submitting manuscripts via email, so I’m focusing on snail mail right now. I’m pretty certain the US Post Office will do its thing and deliver the envelopes. I don’t have as much faith in the internet. Too easy for the recipient to hit “delete” or send out a form rejection if the inbox is too full. Don’t look at me like that. I’m sure it happens.

Having put some work out there, I feel like I can look through the purple box for the next story idea.

What about you? Have you been a WB on your own behalf today?

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gpeynon
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 11:51:24

    I’m about to start sending out some snail-mail material too. I hope the replies (rejections) that come back are less generic than those submitted via email, considering it takes a lot more effort to send paper queries.

    Reply

    • MJ Belko
      Jan 14, 2015 @ 15:49:26

      I really have begun to wonder about the sense in sending email submissions. A couple of times, I got a rejection in a couple of minutes, literally. There is no way in hell anyone read the manuscript in that short a time, even if it is a picture book. It seems that through technology they’ve found a whole new way to demean writers. I wish they would just refuse submissions for a while when they’re overwhelmed, instead of simply cleaning us out of the inbox.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

