OK, I’ve Been Neglecting You

1306111_SMJPG_20160704102725293

That little guy up there is Winthrop Risk.  He’s the lead character in my children’s book, Winthrop Risk, Detective–The Mystery of the Missing Hamster.

I just did the final touches on the book in Amazon’s Create Space, a self-publishing site. I’m nervously waiting for the final review before the book can be offered for sale. Needless to say, I’m a bit of a wreck.

So, where have I been for almost a year? Right here, working. But it’s been an all-around tough year. To sum up, my mother has been at death’s door since last fall and this has churned up all sorts of childhood crap, my husband’s last layoff lasted longer than expected so I’ve worked longer hours, we had to put the dog down, we got a puppy, my lovely mother-in-law passed away, and they recently found something suspicious on my mammogram (they’re 97% sure it isn’t cancer but I have to wait six months and do another mammogram).

Kind of takes the wind out of the creative sails, so to speak.

So why did I jump to self-publishing? Because I could. Because this isn’t a picture book. Because the children’s publishing scene looks so grim. Because the children’s book section is choked with slapped together stories based on cartoon characters. Because publishers don’t seem to be interested in original stories right now.

But mainly because I could.

I haven’t given up on doing the illustrations for my own picture books. In fact, I recently purchased an art kit for beginners. Did you know they make watercolor pencils?! With my first book in the chute, I can turn some of my attention to the picture aspect of the picture books and hopefully turn out something I can sell.

So, I just wanted to pop in and say hello. Hope my followers are all still out there. I’ll post an update when the book is actually for sale, which should be a few days.

Happy tales.

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mlrover
    Jul 05, 2016 @ 08:56:19

    Missed you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

