Is the Ad Worth the Price?

I’ve been getting emails from Amazon offering an advertising package for my children’s book, Winthrop Risk, Detective.

Seems they’ll have my book turn up here and there when someone searches for something in my genre.  Each time someone clicks on my book, I have to pay Amazon something like 25 cents.

Have any of you self-published daredevils used Amazon’s service?

Was it worth the price?

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mlrover
    Nov 18, 2016 @ 10:27:12

    I’ve considered it but not used Amazon yet. I have used YA Books Central, which is expensive. Will let you know how that turns out. It’s an online advertising site that has a large YA and children following. I’m using it for a YA fantasy series. I thought I saw some children’s books on the site but was focused on my own genre.

    Reply

  2. onereasonableperson
    Nov 18, 2016 @ 14:11:45

    Amazon offers two types of ads: product display and sponsored products. For the product display ad, you enter in a list of books similar to yours, and when a potential customer goes to that page, they see your book as an ad. For the sponsored products ad, you enter a list of keywords. When someone searches for that keyword, your book shows up.

    I recently ran ad campaigns of both types. Spent $9 to get 44 clicks and no buys for the product display ad. Since it wasn’t performing very well, I ended it pretty quickly.

    I had better luck with the product display ad. Spent a little over $19 to get 7 sales, a slight profit.

    Note, however, that the system doesn’t tell me how many people decided to read my book through KU. My guess is that I probably got as many reads as I did sales.

    Overall, if you’re looking to gain a few extra readers, it’s probably worth it. If you’re trying to catapult your book up the rankings, the ads just don’t have enough juice to move the needle all that much.

    Some notes:

    The ads are pretty cheap and easy. If a particular keyword is costing you $.25/click and you’re not getting sales, simply disable that keyword. I averaged $.10/click for my successful ad. (My conversion rate was pretty low, leading me to believe that I need to redo either my cover or my pitch.) The amount that you bid per click is not what you end up paying; it’s the max you’re willing to pay per click. For keywords, pick stuff relating to your genre, your book, and other authors and books in your genre.

    Reply

  3. mlrover
    Dec 06, 2016 @ 19:48:15

    So far, YABC has shown little in the way of results, especially at the cost, which is expensive, but this is early days. Will give a final report at the end of the month.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

